The Pain of Falling

The Pain of Falling

Read: I Corinthians 10:1-12

I Corinthians 10:12 “Wherefore let him that thinketh he standeth take heed lest he fall.”

There I was, sailing along on my roller blades, my wife at my side. Suddenly, the wheels begun to wobble, and a second later I was face down on the asphalt. Just like that, I had a broken finger and some nasty cuts on my face.

This happened a couple of years ago, but the results of that fall are still fresh on my mind. The pain of falling is still with me, making me much more cautious on my roller blades. Having fallen once, I take every precaution to avoid doing so again.

Falling isn’t good. But for anyone who has stumbled in life, something positive can result, if the fall leads to more careful way of living.

Paul admonished, “Let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall” (I Corinthians 10:12). Believers do fall. /but when we do, our goal must be to learn from our error and to avoid a second spill.

If you have stumbled along the course of life’s journey, there’s hope. First, ask God for guidance, for He “upholds all who fall” (Psalm 145:14). Next, read the Word of God and begin to live carefully by it’s principles. “Be transformed by the renewing of your mind” (Romans 12:2).

Have you fallen? Ask God to help you get up and keep you from falling again —Dave Branon

We’re thankful, Lord, that when we fall
We can begin anew
If humbly he confess our sin.
then turn and follow you. —Sper

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
When we walk in the Light, we won’t stumble in the darkness.

Our Daily Bread Vol. 14

Tell me what are you thinking...

