The Rapids of Change

The Rapids of Change

1 Chronicles 28:9-20 Read Here…

1 Chronicles 28:20 “And David said to Solomon his son, Be strong and of good courage, and do it: fear not, nor be dismayed: for the Lord God, even my God, will be with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee, until thou hast finished all the work for the service of the house of the Lord.”

I was enjoying the start of my first whitewater rafting experience, until I heard the roar of the rapids up ahead. My emotions were flooded with feelings of uncertainty, fear, and insecurity at the same time. Riding through the whitewater was a first rate, white-knuckle experience! and then, suddenly, it was over. The guide in the back of the raft had navigated us through, I was safe, at least until the next set of rapids.

Transitions in our lives are like whitewater. The inevitable leaps from one season of life to the next, college to career, to retirement, marriage to widowhood, are all marked by uncertainty and insecurity.

In one of the most significant transitions recorded in the Old Testament history, Solomon assumed the throne from his father David. I’m sure he was filled “white-knuckle” uncertainty about the future. His father’s advice? Be strong and of good courage, and do it;…for the Lord God, my God, will be with you!” Chronicles 28:20.

You’ll have your fair share of tough transitions in life. But with God in your raft you’re not alone. Keep your eyes on the One who is navigating the rapids. He’s taken lots of others through before. Smooth waters are just ahead.– Joe Stowell

I am safe when danger threatens,
For I’m trusting Christ the Lord;
Since He promised He’ll be with me,
Though I fear, my faith’s restored.

_________________________________________________________________
God will guide you through the rapids of change.

ODB Volume 14

2 thoughts on “The Rapids of Change

Tell me what are you thinking...

