Perfect Peace and Rest

Perfect Peace and Rest

Psalm 71:19-24 Read Here…

Psalm 71:20 “Thou, which hast shewed me great and sore troubles, shalt quicken me again, and shalt bring me up again from the depths of the earth.”

The Psalmist had seen “great and severe troubles” (Psalm 71:20). Yet hovering in the back of his mind was the thought that God would “revive him again”. The literal meaning of the phrase is “bring him to life again”. He elaborated: You shall bring me up again from the depths of the earth (the grave). You shall increase my greatness, and comfort me on every side (vv. 20-21). If the troubles didn’t end in this life, certainly in heaven they would.

This thought that someday we shall be in God’s presence and enjoying Him forever, crowns many of the psalms and is an assurance that help;s present troubles fade away. (see Psalm 16, 17, 49, 73).

Perhaps no one but God knows the trouble you’ve seen but this is not all that shall be. Someday, your Father will “increase your greatness,” you will be clothed with unspeakable glory. There will be comfort “on every side.” His presence and love will bring perfect peace and rest.

Richard Baxter writes, “O what a blessed day that will be when I shall…stand on the shore and look back on the raging seas I have safely passed; when I shall review my pains and sorrows, my fears and tears, and possess the glory which was the end of all!” –David Rooper

When all my labors and trials are o’er,
And I am safe on that beautiful shore,
Just to be near the dear Lord I adore
Will through the ages be glory for me. —-Gabriel

___________________________________________________________________
When God wipes our tears, sorrow will give way to Eternal song.

ODB Volume 19

2 thoughts on “Perfect Peace and Rest

Tell me what are you thinking...

